Great Schools Partnership

2017 iNACOL Blended and Online Symposium

Orlando, FL | October 23-25

Great Schools Partnership is honored to send eight members of our team to present at this year’s iNACOL Blended and Online Symposium. Below you will find materials and resources for each of the presentations.

Competency as the leverage point in school redesign: Sustaining the work through coherence and alignment | October 24, 10:00 am-12:15 pm

Competency education is a high leverage initiative. It solidifies a commitment to equity, articulates college- and career-ready outcomes for all students, ensures personalized learning is rigorous, and leads to improved teaching and learning. It also provides an array of measureable learning outcomes and informs student-centered accountability systems. Participants will use tools and resources to frame their transformation work as one cohesive, coherent effort leading to greater sustainability. 

Materials
Presentation slides
Global Best Practices 1.1: Equity
Global Best Practices 2.1: Vision, Mission + Action Plan
District Self-Assessment
Action Planning Guidance
Action Planning Template

Presenters
Mark Kostin | Associate Director | mkostin@greatschoolspartnership.org
Moises Nuñez | Senior Associate | mnunez@greatschoolspartnership.org
Katie Thompson | Senior Associate | kthompson@greatschoolspartnership.org

Building policy from educator practice | October 24, 2:15-3:15 pm

The shift to competency necessitates changes to local and state policy. Too often left out of conversations about policy, practitioners end up feeling that changes are made to them, not with them. Understanding the policy landscape empowers creative, proactive, innovative student-centered practices; elevates educator voice; and helps distinguish between policy perception and reality. Participants will learn how policy can be a driver for change and how it can protect best practices.

Materials
Enter 3 Words Google Form
Word Cloud
Presentation Slides
Agenda
Sample Graduation Policy
Policy Revision Chart
High Leverage Policy Document
High Leverage Policy Diagram
Standards-Referenced Grading Video (Des Moines)

Presenters
Erin Dukeshire | Senior Associate | edukeshire@greatschoolspartnership.org
David Ruff | Executive Director | druff@greatschoolspartnership.org

It's not about pace. Using competency to deepen learning | October 24, 4:00-5:00 pm

“Move on when ready” is often used when discussing competency-based learning. This mantra supports individualized learning. Does it encourage rigorous and deep learning? Instead of an individualized curriculum focusing on pace, personalized competency-based learning can be collaborative, ensure transfer, and still be manageable for educators. Participants will actively discuss their beliefs about teaching and learning and identify indicators leading to student agency and engagement. 

Materials
Presentation Slides
Elements of Effective Instruction
Elements of Effective Instruction Self-Assessment
Global Best Practices

Presenters
Reed Dyer | Senior Associate | rdyer@greatschoolspartnership.org
Angela Hardy | Director of Coaching | ahardy@greatschoolspartnership.org